Death…and more.

First, let me get this off of my chest: CANCER SUCKS!! That didn’t make me feel any better, but at least I put it out there.

My Aunt Sharon: Ovarian/Fallopian Tube cancer: Passed September 25, 2016

My Cousin Kim: non-small cell squamous lung cancer: Still alive and kicking! 🙂

My Cousin Bill: non-small cell squamous lung cancer: Passed October 21st.

September 25th began the downward spiral. Matthew and I were at church and we had just finished singing ‘Cast My Cares’ by Tim Timmons. All of a sudden, my cellphone begins to vibrate; it’s my mom. Now, my mom rarely calls my cellphone. And never on Sunday. During Cast My Cares, the Holy Spirit was moving through my heart and brought a strong sense of my Aunt Sharon to mind; not that she wasn’t always on my mind…but THIS was a strong pull. So, I went outside to return my mom’s call and she let me know that Aunt Sharon passed away. I began to weep and told her that I already knew. That the Holy Spirit had prepared me for the news. (I don’t think she understood what that meant). My heart was breaking. Not only for myself, but for my mom, who was very close to Sharon, as well as the rest of the family.

At the same time, my cousin Bill was fighting his own battle with lung cancer. It wasn’t going well, and he passed away on October 21st. My heart broke even more for my family.

October 25th would have been my dad’s 78th birthday. A few days later was the 1 year anniversary of a cousin’s suicide.

It seemed like a never-ending situation. I told Matthew that I was waiting for the next death notice, since death comes in threes. Matthew says it’s a myth, but my family has experienced it before. From 1995-1997, our family experienced five deaths, including my dad’s.

And finally, my cousin Kim. She’s fought her own battle with lung cancer and she is still alive and kicking. I can’t ask for anything more than that. All I can do is continue to pray for her, and the rest of my family. And that’s exactly what I do. I pray for every single one of them.

 

Leave a Reply

