Life…

Life takes some twists and turns you never expect.

September 15, 2014 I was in a bad car accident. I went through physical therapy from November – December, which didn’t work. The physical therapist noticed a marked weakness in my left leg. In February, I had nerve testing in my left are and it was discovered that I have a pinched nerve. I was supposed to have nerve testing on my left leg to see what is going on with it. The neurologist also wanted to run an updated nerve test on my left arm to determine if the pinched nerve resolved on it’s own, or if I would need surgery to correct it.

Then the bubble popped. About 10 days before I was to have the nerve testing on my leg, Matthew got laid off. Then as of February 28th, we had no health insurance. He was off work for about 2 1/2 months. We praise God for the job that he has now.

June 2nd, the insurance adjuster for the other insurance company called to settle the case. Their initial offer was $16,000. I was like, ‘ummmm, no.’ They went up to $17,000. I asked for $20,000. She said that they couldn’t go that high. I sent an email detailing what I needed done in the future; nerve testing on left leg, updated nerve testing on left arm, possible surgeries, permanent bone bruise on the front of left shin that is numb on the surface, but I can feel the tingling of nerves under the bruise and not to mention a permanent neurological condition, Positional Vertigo. The insurance company was taking only the last 9 months into consideration, while I was look at future medical issues.

I didn’t hear from the adjuster for nearly a week. In the meantime, Matthew and I talked and we came to the conclusion that even $25,000 won’t be enough to cover tests, therapy, surgeries, etc. So after much thought, I did something that I didn’t want to do; I hired an attorney. I immediately took a liking to him over the phone. I went to see him on June 9th and signed paperwork for him to represent me.

On June 10th at 4:45pm, I received a call from the insurance company, so I let it go to voicemail. They were offering $20,000 as a settlement. She wanted to email me a release that I could sign, fax back and send the live signature by mail. She was going to be out of the office the following week, but was ‘hopeful’ that someone in the office would complete the settlement details. I notified my attorney and it turns out that a Letter of Representation had been faxed over to the insurance company between 3:00-3:30pm on June 10th. The insurance company already had the letter of rep, when the adjuster called with the $20,000 settlement. So, my attorney handled the situation. On June 19th I signed the paperwork for the neurologist, so hopefully nerve testing, MRIs, etc. will get started soon.

On a brighter note, I got my Live Scan done…TWICE. The first time, the FBI kicked my prints back, so I had to have the Live Scan done again. A week later I received an envelope with my Notary Commission. 🙂 I am trying to raise $400 for notary supplies and fees, then I can be sworn in as a Public Servant. I have to be sworn in by July 7th. I know that God will provide the funds.

I will update when there is more to tell.

BusinessCard2

Leave a Reply

