My Weight Loss Journey

Hi everyone. I’m Katt, from So. Cal. I was always chunky growing up. I never became obese until I became unexpectedly pregnant with our son. I didn’t know I was pregnant until I was almost 5 months along because I’d had major surgery while pregnant and it slowed my system down. Before surgery, I had lost about 25 pounds and was about 160-165 and looked good for my height, which is 5′, 6 1/2″ tall. I about 100lbs during my pregnancy. After our son was born, I had trouble losing the weight and then the health problems came; diabetes, sleep apnea, back issues, etc. I tried every diet under the sun, including diet pills with ephedra, which wound up causing me to have a permanent tachycardia condition which causes me to have orthostatic hypotension (low blood pressure with a high heart rate). In 2001, I was in a work-related car accident that disabled me. I found out that my uncle had the RNY procedure done and began talking to my doctor about it, while doing my own research. I went through 6 months of bariatric classes through Kaiser, had all 3 of my appointments in San Diego on the same day (surgeon, psych and internist). I was working at the time. I was let go on April 15, 2008. My husband told me to take the first available surgery date once I was cleared for surgery, so I did; April 29, 2008. This was April 21st. I hung up with the coordinator and had my ‘WTF did I just do?!?!’ moment. I had 8 days to get ready. EIGHT DAYS!!! My only requirement was that I NOT gain any weight in those 8 days. Surgery went well. To keep from doing an open procedure, Dr. Zorn did an extra lap incision. They kept me in the hospital for an extra day because my blood count dropped, and they took me off the heparin. Came home on Saturday, went to church on Sunday and had communion. I know…Bad Girl! But I was fine. Things were an adjustment. Six weeks after surgery, I became extremely dizzy and fell in the bedroom (carpeted). The next morning, I became extremely dizzy and passed out in the kitchen (tiled), breaking my right ankle in two places. I was severely dehydrated and low on protein. Dr. Zorn just kind of chuckled at my post-op, saying it was a typical newbie mistake and I wasn’t the first patient that this had happened too. Due to being in a wheelchair for nearly 15 weeks (crutches are EVIL!), my weight loss was slow. But I hit Onderland at my 1 year surgiversary. I lost a total of 108 pounds. The my world crumbled. In 2009, my husband decided he wanted a divorce. I said ok as we were having major issues at the time. I had no where to go, so we continued to live together for financial reasons. I backslid in my eating habits and regained 30 pounds. We reconciled at the end of 2012 and I have last almost 10 pounds of regain. I am still struggling due to mobility issues from a car accident last September. I love having the support of family and friends, but sometimes they don’t ‘get it’. I’m really glad to have a community of WLSers who have been through it all, that I can come to for advice, support and an ass-kicking if I need it. Highest weight: 295lbs, Lowest weight: 187lbs, Current weight: about 207lbs.

WeightlossPix3

Leave a Reply

