September 15, 2014…

It was a bright, beautiful, dry, sunny day. I was heading to my doctor’s office for follow-ups on lab work and an intestinal virus that hospitalized me for 2 days due to dehydration.

I was driving on the westbound 60 freeway, in the fast lane. I was listening to some really good worship music, Mandisa’s Overcomer. I noticed that traffic was slowing down and coming to a stop. There were big rigs and cars all around me. I remember that there was a black/dark gray and silver Hyundai at least 2 car lengths in front of me. I began slowing down. I was doing about 25 mph and still slowing down when I looked at my rear-view mirror. What I saw next truly scared me. I saw a red car coming up behind me, not slowing down and not stopping. I later found out that the car was a 2015 Kia Forte. I watched as this car slammed into the rear of my car, doing between 50-60mph. I lost control of my car and went across all lanes of traffic. I can’t tell you how many ‘donuts’ I did across the lanes. At the time, I didn’t know if I had taken anyone out with me. I eventually went across the embankment and the rear end of my car hit the sound/retaining wall, where I finally came to rest, right between the pole that holds the freeway signs and a power transformer. The impact was so hard that it knocked my shoes off, my glasses landed between my seat and the driver’s door and the hair clip I was wearing broke into two pieces when I hit the back of my head on the headrest. I had no concept of time and how long the whole situation lasted. I remember panicking, being in tears and hyperventilating. The first responder happened to be a police office on his way to work. He came over and asked if I was ok. I said no and asked if I had hit anyone as I went across the lanes. He said he had watched the whole thing and no one else was hit. The first words out of my mouth were, ‘thank God!’. I remember seeing 2-3 young men (early-mid twenties, maybe) on the shoulder. I know one had called the accident in, but I don’t know if they actually witnessed the accident. I didn’t get their names and there were no eyewitness statements in the accident report.

I was transported to the hospital, where I was given a small dose of Morphine to take the edge off the pain. I injured my neck, mid to lower back and my left leg. They took a CT scan of my neck and in addition to the herniated disc between C2/C3 from an accident in 2001, I now have an injury at C6/C7. Wonderful! (insert sarcasm here). They X-rayed my back and my left leg. My legs felt like the muscles had been ripped to shreds. I barely walked out of the ER about 5 hours after the accident. For almost 2 weeks I was walking like Frankenstein’s monster because I couldn’t bend my knees. I did however, with Matthew’s help the next day, make it to a job interview. I didn’t get the job, but that’s ok. I was/am bruised on my left side; my upper arm/shoulder area, forearm and my left shin. The bruises are fading, the pain is not. I am also having neurological problems with my neck. When I lay on my right and left sides, the room begins spinning.

I picked up the accident report last week, and the other driver, by her own admission, stated that she was going 60mph when she hit me. My car has been totaled out at a little over $4000. I am waiting for the other driver’s insurance to contact me so that we can get the ball rolling on the accident. I purchased another car on September 27th. It’s a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am. It needs some work, but al in all is a great car. I have been given a referral for physical therapy and I am waiting to see if my doctor is going to refer me to a neurologist.

Everyone seems to be amazed that I wasn’t hospitalized after seeing the pictures of my car. All I can say is that it’s ALL God. God was there with me. He kept me from hitting any other vehicles when I went across the lanes, as well as, keeping them from hitting me. He kept me from hitting the power transformer and the sign pole. The enemy tried to take me out, to get me to turn my back on God. It didn’t/won’t work. My faith in God is even stronger now.

Picture #4

Picture #13

Leave a Reply

