Our Marriage Testimony

This goes hand-in-hand with My Faith, but I decided to post it here, in My Life.

Marriage IS Beautiful…

This is mine and Matthew’s story of how a broken marriage can be restored by the Lord.

Matthew and I met on a church van, through an ex-boyfriend of mine in 1982. I was attracted to his eyes from the start. He’s got such beautiful hazel eyes, with long dark lashes. But, he didn’t want me. He wanted one of my best friends and started dating her instead. They eventually broke up. A few months later, he called me for a date. Our first date was on my birthday in 1983. I turned 17 and he was 16. Yes, I am four months older than he is. Things went well for the first year or so. We broke up a couple time, then in October 1985, while we were broken up, I found out I was pregnant with our son. We wound up reconciling in November 1985. Jason was born in April 1986. He was a hefty and healthy 11lbs, 5-1/2ozs and 23 inches long. Five weeks later, on May 10, 1986, Matthew and I got married. Being a new mother and then a new wife on top of it was difficult, to say the least. I was completely responsible for the care of our child while he worked and went out with his friends on the weekends. We separated twice in the first 4 ½years of our marriage. I had accepted Jesus as my Savior when I was 12. He wasn’t saved. Being unevenly yoked made difficult. He became saved around 2006-2007, but we still weren’t following the Lord. We were pretty much leading separate lives and in September 2009, he told me that he wanted a divorce. In a way, I was relieved, but I was sad at the same time. My parents were together until my dad passed away. I never thought I would be divorced. We continued to live together for financial reasons, the main one being that I wasn’t working and couldn’t’ find employment. It was a rough time for the both of us with constant fighting. Then on December 26, 2012, we had a meeting with one of the Pastors at our church. He asked Matthew if he wanted to save our marriage. Matthew said yes. So they kept talking, all the while I’’m formulating my answer because I just knew I was going to be asked the same question. My answer was no, I didn’t want to save our marriage. I just wanted it done and over with. When our Pastor asked me the same question, I looked at him and as I was preparing to say ‘no’, the Holy Spirit moved in that moment and changed my answer to ‘yes’. For a couple months I couldn’t explain what had happened, why I changed my mind, until we were in a marriage counseling session with our Pastor and he explained it. Now, we have been reconciled for 17 months, with God at the center of our marriage and we are doing amazingly well. Matthew is my best friend, my love, my life and I would say ‘‘I do’’ all over again. Marriage IS Beautiful!

For those couple who are struggling, open your eyes and hearts to the Lord and let Him lead your marriage. You have nothing to lose, and EVERYTHING to GAIN.

 
Image
Leave a Reply

